#main-navigation ul.navbar-nav li a:hover { background-color: #444444 !important; }
Skip to main content

NMSU students, faculty to receive Sony computer equipment awards for 5th year

  • By Minerva Baumann
  • 575-646-7566
  • mbauma@nmsu.edu
  • Oct 28, 2013
Exterior of building.

WHAT: 2013 Sony Education Scholarship Program Awards ceremony

WHO: NMSU Students and faculty award recipients, Sony Electronics

WHEN: Friday, Nov. 1 from 2-5 p.m.

WHERE: NMSU golf course banquet room, 3000 Herb Wimberly Drive

VISUALS: Students and faculty will be presented with a variety of equipment including laptops and cameras.

Five New Mexico State University students and two faculty members will be awarded Sony computers and equipment on Friday, Nov. 1 from 2-5 p.m. at the NMSU Golf course banquet room, 3000 Herb Wimberly Drive as part of the Sony Electronics Scholarship Program. NMSU was among universities and community colleges across the country chosen to participate in the program.

"We are very grateful for Sony's generosity and are honored to be part of this program for our fifth year," said Norma Grijalva. NMSU's interim chief information officer. "Thirty-five students and faculty have benefitted from these technology packages. It is gratifying to see the difference this equipment can make for our students and faculty."

This year the students will receive: a VAIO Fit 14 Touch laptop and VAIO laptop backpack, a Cyber-shot TF1 camera with a soft carrying case and a 16 GB memory card plus a Walkman Sports MP3 player. The package adds up to $1,200. Faculty will receive: a VAIO Fit 14 Touch laptop and VAIO laptop backpack, a Sony A77 camera with an 18-135 mm lens and system carrying case; noise-cancelling ear buds and a 32 GB memory card. The faculty package is valued at $2,300.

The five students to receive awards in a ceremony Nov. 1 are: Tyler Chavez, College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences; Ileana Evans, College of Education; Melissa Gallegos, College of Health and Social Services; Andrea Gutierrez, College of Arts and Sciences; and Luis Varela, College of Engineering.

The two faculty members receiving awards are: Sandra Deshors, assistant professor of languages and linguistics in the College of Arts and Sciences; and Shannon Knapp, assistant professor of economics and international business in the College of Business.

To be eligible, the students must have a 3.0 or better grade-point average, and be active in campus or community leadership roles. Preference is given to first generation college students. The faculty must be full-time, tenure-track junior faculty members who have demonstrated progress toward achieving tenure in a field of science, technology or media.