Skip to main content

New Mexico State 4-H officers elected for 2019-2020

  • By Faith Schifani
  • 575-646-6233
  • Sep 25, 2019
Group of students pose on stairs

In the few months since the 2019-2020 New Mexico State 4-H officers have been elected the group has traveled to the nation’s capital and started planning leadership activities. The annual New Mexico State 4-H conference, held at New Mexico State University in July, is for senior 4-H students from around the state to attend workshops, lectures and guest speaker presentations.

The officers elected for this year include Evan Webster, president from Union County, Helena Ramirez, vice president from Hidalgo County, Taylor Moore, secretary from Sandoval County, Alyssa McAlister, treasurer from Roosevelt County, Kaitlyn Kircher, parliamentarian from Roosevelt County, McKenzie Luna, reporter from Sierra County, and Randy Halvorsen, song and recreation leader from Dona Ana County.

The state 4-H officers started off their year of service with an orientation and a leadership experience in Washington, D.C., in July. The New Mexico Department of Agriculture sponsored this opportunity, which allowed them to meet with legislative bodies and speak to U.S. Department of Agriculture officials.

Throughout the year, the officers will be planning and conducting various leadership events including the youth get-away for the junior and novice 4-H students. This event is held in April in Glorieta, New Mexico, and is intended to expose younger members to the array of opportunities 4-H has to offer.

The officers also will play a large role in planning and running sessions at the 2020 New Mexico State 4-H Conference at NMSU.

For more information about 4-H and the state officers contact Cheryl Butterfield at 575-646-1156 or