Skip to main content

Five New Mexico Certified Public Managers graduate in June from NM EDGEFive civil servants earn New Mexico Certified Public Manager designation from NM EDGE.

  • By Jane Moorman
  • 505-249-0527
  • Jun 30, 2017
Large group of people in black, white and turquoise shirts

TAOS – Five civil servants receiving the certified public manager designation were among the 33 New Mexico EDGE graduates recognized during the New Mexico Association of Counties annual conference June 22 in Taos.

NM EDGE, which stands for Education Designed to Generate Excellence in the public sector, is a nationally accredited program administered by New Mexico State University’s Cooperative Extension Service.

Joanne C. Hethcox, Luna County budget and procurement director; Robert Martinez, Santa Fe County public works deputy director; Joe E. West, Chaves County road operation director; Susan Trujillo, Taos County treasurer; and Dianne Maes, Sandoval County manager, completed 60 approved classes, 18 hours of assessment and a supervised capstone project to earn the designation.

They have also earned the first two tiers of certified public official and certified public supervisor designations of the New Mexico Certified Public Manager program.

“This was an amazing cohort of dedicated professionals and we are excited to have another cohort ready to begin in July,” said Mary DeLorenzo, NM EDGE program director. “We now have a total of 12 people who have completed this prestigious designation.”

The success of the NM EDGE program has been the collaboration between NMSU, NMAC and the association’s affiliations, who participate in the design of the curriculums for the various certifications. During the last 14 years, the program has grown from the original four county college elected official designations of commissioners, clerks, assessors and treasurers, to include the three-tiered designation of the certified public manager and 11 specialization certifications.

“New Mexico EDGE, a unique program of our land-grant university, affords participants the opportunity to enhance their leadership skills and education,” said Dean Rolando Flores of NMSU’s College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences. “Our commitment at NMSU to be an engine for economic development takes many shapes, including the mission of NM EDGE to help have better government through education.”

The longstanding partnership between counties and the Extension Service has provided many programs for the citizens in agriculture, family and consumer science, youth development and, now, courses in governance.

“The success of the Extension Service is dependent on our collaboration with county government across the state,” said Jon Boren, director of CES. “NM EDGE is important to all of us, CES and the county governments. We look forward to the continued partnership to provide vital continuing education courses to our public servants.”

During the ceremony, the late JoLynn Queener, Curry County former county clerk, received the certified public official designation posthumously. Her husband, Rick Queener, accepted the diploma.

Receiving certification diplomas during the Thursday luncheon of NMAC’s annual conference were:
- Catron County: Keith M. Riddle, county clerk, certified public official;
Sheri Riddle, chief deputy treasurer, certified public official.
- Curry County: Candace Morrison, county assessor, certified public assessment officer.
- Eddy County: Ima Lee Mellard, county appraiser, certified public supervisor and certified advocate in public ethics;
Charlene Powell, safety officer, certified professional risk manager.
- Lea County: Paul W. Clark, deputy assessor and personal property specialist, certified public assessment officer; and
Shannon Lathrop, GIS analyst technician, certified advocate in public ethics.
- Lincoln County: Amanda Garcia, 911 addressing coordinator; certified public official.
- Los Alamos County: Sgt. Erika Bustos, shift supervisor, certified jail specialist.
- Rio Arriba County: Linda J. Padilla, county clerk, certified advocate for public ethics.
- Santa Fe County: Leroy Catanach, tax clerk, certified treasury official;
George R. Gurule, GIS mapper, certified advocate in public ethics;
Steven Justin Reese, project manager; certified public supervisor;
Jerome Roybal, development review specialist, certified public official; and
Julian Juan Sena, GPS technician and rural addresser, certified GIS specialist.
- Taos County: Jeanna Elam, accountant, certified public official;
Natalie M. Evans, GIS technician, certified GIS specialist;
Jonathan Montoya, accountant, certified public official;
Candyce O’Donnell, county commissioner, certified county commissioner;
Melecia Ortega, collection coordinator, certified public official;
Sasha L. Sanchez, appraiser, certified public official;
Antonia Feliz Santistevan, adult and juvenile detention centers manager, certified jail specialist; and
Elsa Vigil, chief procurement officer, certified public supervisor.
- Torrance County: Tracy L. Sedillo, county treasurer, certified advocate for public ethics and certified treasury official;
Victoria Sedillo, office manager, business/personal property and livestock, certified public official; and
Amanda Tenorio, finance director, certified public official.
- Valencia County: Danny Monette, county manager, certified public official.
- State of New Mexico Treasurer’s Office: Leo R. Marquez III, chief financial officer, certified treasurer official, certified public official and certified public supervisor.
- New Mexico Department of Finance and Administration: Michael P. Steininger, certified treasury official.